Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

You are in:

  1. News

Fundación EDPNews

Start of main content

The EDP Foundation bolsters the Viva Nuestra Energia (Long Live Our Energy) educational programme


Education and Research


 More than 7,300 students from 52 schools in Asturias, Cantabria and the Basque Country will take part

More than 7,300 students will take part in the Viva Nuestra Energia (Long Live Our Energy) educational programme in March and April in Asturias, Cantabria and the Basque Country. This activity, promoted by the EDP Foundation, aims to raise awareness among children on the importance of making an efficient use of the energy they consume.

The activity is taught in a travelling classroom that visits schools and is aimed at primary school students between the ages of 6 and 10. It has a duration of one and a half hours and is run by two instructors, who teach the content in a playful, experiential and participatory manner. To do this, they are backed up by an interactive presentation and cartoons.

The instructors explain what energy is and how it is produced, sources of renewable and non-renewable energy, the efficient use of energy and give precautions on using electricity. After the show, pupils receive tips on energy efficiency and take part in a question-and-answer game in teams.

In Asturias, the travelling classroom will visit students in 15 schools in Avilés, Gijón, Oviedo, Somiedo, Pola de Laviana and Ribera de Arriba. In the Basque Country, it will visit 22 centres in Barakaldo, Vitoria, Bilbao, San Sebastian, Laudio, Zarautz, Portugalete, Andoain and Getxo. In Cantabria, the activity will take place at 15 schools in Santander, Astillero, Miengo and Camargo.

The EDP Foundation now has plans to run the programme during the next school year, with visits to schools in October, November and December.

EDP launched the Viva Nuestra Energia (Long Live Our Energy) programme in 2010. Since then, more than 250,000 students from 1,000 different schools in Asturias, Cantabria, the Basque Country, Navarre, Castilla y León, Extremadura and Murcia have taken part.

Featured News

End of main content

Start of content